Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

not re-adding pinyin?

jww1066   March 20th, 2010 9:27a.m.

When I turned on reading practice I re-added all my lists thinking that this would add the pinyin for all of the items I'm already studying. However, it seems that the scheduler is skipping the items I've already studied and is only adding pinyin for genuinely-new items. In the "Transportation" list, for example,

http://www.skritter.com/vocab/list?list=agVza3JpdHIWCxINVm9jYWJMaXN0SW5mbxiIx-gGDA

I had studied up to 摩托车 before I started practicing readings and restarted the list. Instead of adding pinyin for the items before 摩托车, it started with the next item, which was 游轮. Same thing for the Fruits list at

http://www.skritter.com/vocab/listsect?list=agVza3JpdHIWCxINVm9jYWJMaXN0SW5mbxi6jokHDA&sect=0

Re-adding items to the queue is not an option for me as my queue has over 2,000 items and the pinyin would all end up at the end, but I want to study the pinyin for those items sooner.

That reminds me: it would be nice to have a "clear queue" button which would just delete everything from our queue without changing the stuff we're already studying. Alternatively, a way to bulk rearrange items in the queue would work.

James

scott   March 20th, 2010 11:24a.m.

I think that might be that the index doesn't get reset to 0 when you reenable a list. So you study the first 5 words or so, turn off the list, then turn it back on again, it's still aiming to add the 6th word the next time, not start over from the 1st word.