Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Suggestion - Ability to Remove Definition

Ibid   June 27th, 2010 2:24a.m.

When I'm studying with Skritter, particularly when cramming vocabulary lists for class (i.e. preparing for 听写), I find that I depend upon the definition of characters as much if not more often than the pinyin to recall the correct characters. It's currently possible to hide the pinyin. To prevent me from depending on definitions for memory recollection, would it be possible to add the ability to hide the definition?

mcfarljw   June 27th, 2010 8:02a.m.

I can understand where that might be useful if you have a specific vocabulary list your cramming that doesn't have any overlapping pinyin sounds, but in general I think it develops a bad habit. Isolating individual words by association of pinyin to character isn't very useful outside of the context of a phrase or sentence. Just my thoughts though.

You could try not looking at the definition when new prompts pop up and just pressing the 'Q' key to repeat the pinyin audio. I've done that on occasion to try and work on listening.

Ibid   June 27th, 2010 8:25a.m.

Good suggestion on the repetition of the pinyin via the Q key; the only problem is when I use skritter my tablet laptop's screen is covering the keyboard.