Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Word list deletes some traditional characters

levitooker   January 19th, 2011 11:43p.m.

I'm studying both simplified and traditional characters. So far my wordlist has been going just fine, but today I tried to add a new section and while most of the characters are working fine with the simplified and traditional variants, it will not allow me to add the traditional characters 別 and 閒, leaving only 别 and 闲. I tried editing the wordlist, deleting those characters and adding them back in again. It will show the traditional versions in the list momentarily, but it doesn't actually save them in the list and they're gone as soon as I check the list again.

levitooker   January 19th, 2011 11:52p.m.
Foo Choo Choon   January 20th, 2011 12:20p.m.

A somewhat different but related problem:

Skritter often does not accept/add traditional variants. For instance, I can't add 分佈, 洩密 and 香菸 (the latter one is the Taiwan version).

nick   January 21st, 2011 10:35a.m.

levitooker, I'm not sure what's going on there; I'll ask Scott to take a look. It may be just some code trying to get rid of duplicate characters in lists is misfiring and hiding them.

穆儿, we can only have one traditional version of each multi-character word; in this case, the words in our dictionary have had a different traditional assigned. I'll ask Chris to take a look on these ones to see if the traditional should be changed.

Foo Choo Choon   January 21st, 2011 11:52a.m.

Thanks for your reply, nick.