Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Anyone reading native books out there?

murrayjames   September 20th, 2010 4:14a.m.

I just started reading native books in Chinese. Since my background is in music I got a primer on music theory. It's aimed at the Chinese university/conservatory student.

My experience so far: slow going. Five minutes per page, dictionary out constantly, that sort of thing. The prose is not esoteric or dense--nothing like that. It's straight-foward Chinese. But compared to NPCR 5, which I just finished last week, it's an order of magnitude harder.

The upside... I can feel it stretching me. It's cementing vocab I only kinda knew before. And introducing crazy amounts of new vocabulary. Lots of 书面语 that most Chinese middle school students know. And then there's the music-specific stuff; words like sus-4 chord (挂四和弦), double-flat (重降), over-tone series (泛音列).... Let's just say: By the time I'm finished I should have a killer custom list ready :-)

Is anyone else here reading native-level books? What's your experience been?

balsa   September 20th, 2010 7:51a.m.

I am, and as you describe, it's always slow going, but it's good to feel it strech your mind.

Also, sometimes I switch the level of books I am reading, and pick up an elementary/middle school book, usually a Chinese classic rehashed for young readers, it's entertaining without being too easy, I usually understand most of the words while learning some new at the same time. Though, when I read those kind of books, I try not to check everything in the dictionary, and try to enjoy the reading.