Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Knowing characters vs. knowing words

Foo Choo Choon   May 30th, 2010 8:19a.m.

I'm somewhat confused about the way Skritter handles the distinction between learned characters and learned words. Sometimes they appear to be treated separately (as in [1]), sometimes they are not even recognized if previously learned in combination (as in [2]).

[1.] Knowing how to write a character, but not knowing it in context.

Chengyus are a good example: When I'm studying a Chengyu like 莫名其妙, the characters themselves aren't the difficulty. Still, I may confuse 莫 with 陌. Skritter will regard 莫 as unknown and then later ask me to learn it as a single character, although I have been consistently able to write it.

I still constantly need to review easy characters, because I confuse them with other characters if used in combination. Lately I've sometimes adopted a method of manually marking the character as "known" and the word as "unknown".

Most frequently, it happens with "jie":
解 (spent 32 min), 结 (spent 25 min), 接 (spent 25 min)

[2.] Knowing a character as part of a word, but still "unlearned" as a single character.

After having passed the 2500 characters mark, I'd really like to "fill the gaps" by simply running through some of the nice character lists (http://www.skritter.com/vocab/tags?tag=characters).
However, many of the characters I definitely know are still shown as completely unlearned. Examples are 应酬的酬, 儒家的儒,亭子的亭 and so on.