Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Not physically writing at all?

wispfrog   February 13th, 2011 7:59p.m.

I've been skritter-ing for about 9 months now, and got up above 1000 characters. I bought a tablet almost immediately, and have been using it happily during that time. That's with raw squigs and pretty much maximum restrictions on stroke ordering.

But due to a change in circumstances recently, I've had a lot less time to practice with the tablet available, and have instead been doing snatched bursts at times using computers with no tablet. So for those times, I just imagine the writing - I think through all the strokes in proper order and then press s and mark it wrong or right. And actually, that seems to work pretty well. Now that I've got this far, its actually easy to accurately remember exactly what features I put in, and whether it was right. And its even faster than actually writing it.

But my question is, how good/bad/dangerous is it to continue like this? Thoughts, opinions, experience, anyone?

Thomas   February 13th, 2011 8:04p.m.

As long as you're honest with yourself, I think it's an okay way to practice. The pen is probably the only way to train new muscle memory, though.

Roland   February 14th, 2011 12:16a.m.