Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Learning kanji the Heisig way

Rappel   February 16th, 2010 12:41p.m.

Hello everyone !

I am currently studying japanese following genki (at lesson 3) and i like it. Before starting this I already learned hiragana and katakana using Heisig's method. I learned hiragana in 1 day (same with katakana) including the stroke order etc.
I am now at the point in genki where they start introducing kanji and I really want to learn it the heisig way because it sticks like krazyglue and I know it works wonders for me.
I've done some reading on heisig and also read his introduction and I've got one problem with it, which is, it doesnt teach you the readings (and thus the pronounciation) of the character.
Now... my idea was to start heisig and learn the readings at the same time. I know this will slow it down, but I think it'll make me feel less like i've learned only half there is. So basically, I'll try and learn it the heisig way, meaning and writing, and in addition learn the on- and kun-readings.
I really appreciate any feedback on this :)

arp   February 16th, 2010 3:57p.m.

http://www.skritter.com/forum/topic?id=23860001&comments=11

See above. There's a conversation running right now on Heisig.

Rappel   February 16th, 2010 4:51p.m.

Thanks, but I already saw that thread, I don't know the deal with Chinese and this is about japanese :) I don't know how chinese character learning compares to japanese kanji (yeah I know Japanese characters are based on Chinese characters), i know it has pitches, where japanese characters have readings.

nick   February 16th, 2010 6:28p.m.