Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

不下

Nicki   March 7th, 2010 5:59p.m.

I see that this is listed with two fourth tones, and I'm wondering why this word doesn't follow tone sandhi rules. Anybody know why?

jww1066   March 7th, 2010 6:13p.m.

I'm not a Chinese expert but AFAIK 不 should be second tone. There's a little "feedback" link at the bottom right corner of the practice page, so you can send comments on specific characters and words to the Skritter gods.

James

Byzanti   March 7th, 2010 6:25p.m.

Hmm. MDBG and nciku list this one as 2 fourths...

Nicki   March 7th, 2010 6:38p.m.

Yeah I noticed that it was listed in several places (yellowbridge too) as two fourths, which is why I didn't report this as a mistake. It seems to be a correct listing. I'm just wondering why it is behaving that way.

jww1066   March 7th, 2010 6:41p.m.

Many dictionaries obey the rule that tone sandhi isn't written, so maybe that's why the dictionaries have two fourth tones. (It's supposedly only "allowed" to write tone sandhi in educational materials, which of course includes Skritter.)

I've never heard of an exception to the 不 sandhi rule for specific words, have any of you guys?

James

ximeng   March 8th, 2010 2:54a.m.

Example sentences in nciku list it as 2nd then 4th, except when it's a complement, in which case it's neutral then 4th. Though nciku is not an authoritative source though, that's also how I'd expect it to work.

Xerxes314   March 8th, 2010 12:05p.m.