Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Stroke orders / Noob questions

Zhangyanglu   May 27th, 2010 12:02p.m.

Hello guys :)

I just discovered Skritter and think about using it to learn how to write the Hanzi. Thing is, I started not too much ago with Chinese and am still a complete newbie with regard to the caracters.

I wanted to test Skritter to see if it fits my needs, and I got several question regarding the stroke orders:

1) Is there any way of getting the complete, correct or "standard" stroke order to see it as an animation, or is it just "try and error" and see if a blue stroke pops up, to know I was wrong?

2) In the demo, for example for 戈, it says: "And the last rule: "dots and minor strokes last." The upper-right dot in this character comes last.
But then, at the end of the demo, comes: diànhuà 电 话 and for the 话, it wants me to start with this dot, or minor strike, in the upper part of the character, first. So the last rule does not apply here?

3) Also, about the enclosure of some Hanzi, like 口 kǒu, the system does not recognize/criticise if I draw the final closing stroke from left to right or from right to left. How comes? I wonder if the system is more for advanced people who already dominate the stroke orders or if it is really appropriate for a newbie to learn how to draw from the scratch?

I mean, I do not want to learn wrong stroke orders just because Skritter does not care or does not correct me?

Thanks for your advice :-)

nick   May 27th, 2010 12:19p.m.

Welcome!