Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Remember Characters.

rossi92353   November 19th, 2010 1:43p.m.

I have been on skitter for a few days now. I am frustrated that I cannot remember how to write characters no matter how many times I practice! Are there ways (tips, tricks) in helping to remember characters that other users have found successful?
Btw I have some experience speaking and writing pin yin but virtually no experience with characters.

Thanks a bunch for any input at all.

Ed

jww1066   November 19th, 2010 2:11p.m.

Yeah, it can be very slow going at first. Give yourself more than a few days to start out.

Focus on a small set of things until you really know them; don't add new characters and words too quickly or you will get overwhelmed.

Study characters in context: find words that contain your characters, and sentences that show how they're all used.

Study the example sentence by writing it on a piece of scrap paper. Cover it up and try to write it from memory. Do this until you can write the sentence without looking. Then throw it away and go on to the next item.

Study the radicals and learn them 100%, including their readings and definitions; when you learn new characters, study how they are made up of smaller, simpler characters, and use mnemonics (the crazier the better) to help you remember the breakdown. Consider using Heisig's book and method (Google it if you're not familiar.)